ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent
The leading association
of public opinion and
survey research professionals
American Association for Public Opinion Research

Monroe G. Sirken Award

The Monroe G. Sirken Award in Interdisciplinary Survey Methods Research was established in 2014 to recognize a distinguished researcher for contributions to interdisciplinary survey research that have improved the theory and methods of collecting, verifying, processing, presenting, or analyzing survey data. The inaugural award was presented to Norman Bradburn at the 2015 Joint Statistical Meetings. Subsequent awardees were Eleanor Singer in 2016, Michael Brick in 2017, Colm O’Muircheartaigh in 2018, and Judith Lessler in 2019.
Under an agreement reached in 2017, the American Association for Public Opinion Research (AAPOR) joined the American Statistical Association (ASA) as co-sponsor of the award. Under the agreement, the award will follow a four-year cycle, with ASA hosting the award for two years, AAPOR hosting the award the next two years, and so on. The focus of the award will shift with the host. During the ASA years the award will recognize the contributions of individuals who have improved the utility and efficiency of sample surveys by applying the theories and methods of the statistical and computer sciences. When AAPOR presents the award, contributions applying the theories and methods of the social, psychological, and cognitive sciences will be emphasized. The awardee, selected by a joint ASA-AAPOR committee, will give the Sirken Lecture (an invited paper) at the host society’s annual meeting and receive a $5,000 honorarium. 


The award and lecture are presented at the Joint Statistical Meetings or the annual meeting of the American Association for Public Opinion Research the following year.

Nominations require the following:
  • Nominating letter
  • Candidate’s CV
  • Three letters of support – not to exceed two pages each
  • Candidate’s short bio
  • Candidate’s headshot